Why writing fanfiction isn’t as crazy as you think

It’s been a year and a half since I published my first fanfic on AO3, and it’s been several years since I first wrote one. The idea of writing a fanfic came pretty naturally back then; it’s like eating when you’re hungry. After posting the first work (which was in English) on a Chinese fansite (and predictably didn’t get a lot of attention lol), I became kind of addicted to writing them. At the same time, I started exploring this field and discovered AO3, this wonderful place. I guess I wouldn’t have expected fanfics to play such a big part of my life. It’s great to read an article like this that shows how much fanfics and fandoms mean!

Em

Fanfiction. Feared by all. Mothers hide away their children, teenagers joke and laugh or run for the hills. Most people probably won’t even know what it is.

But I do 😉

Of course, I’m joking, fanfiction isn’t really that bad. It is not a monster of any description, nor is it dangerous or evil, but it does have a bit of a bad reputation.

Before, when I was an ordinary person and not part of the so-called Sherlock fandom (a group of people who obsess over the BBC show – something I’ll get into another time) I didn’t really know what fanfiction really was, so here’s the definition for you:

Fanfiction: fiction written by a fan of, and featuring characters from, a particular TV series, film, book, etc.

So there we go, it’s as simple as that.

The fact is, no matter what way you wrap it, shape it, or slide it…

View original post 1,597 more words

Leave a Reply

